Skip to content

April 05, 2005


WASHINGTON -- United States Senator James M. Inhofe (R-OK) and Congressman Ernest J. Istook (R-OK) introduced resolutions today in the U.S. House and U.S. Senate recognizing a "National Week of Hope" in commemoration of the 10-year anniversary of the bombing of the Oklahoma City federal building.

April 19th will mark the 10-year anniversary of the terrorist bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Building in Oklahoma City on April 19th, 1995 which killed 168 and injured 850. The resolutions will recognize the week of April 17-24, 2005 as the National Week of Hope and will include specific days designated for faith, understanding, remembrance, sharing, tolerance, caring, and inspiration, and an annual Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon, A Run to Remember.

"We remember the past by honoring the sacrifices made and the heroism shown to guide us in the future," said Istook. "We know that good can and does triumph over evil."

“10 years ago, the lives of Oklahomans and all Americans were changed forever by an attack on America’s heartland,” said Inhofe. “On that April day, over 168 Americans lost their lives and more than 850 other were injured in a senseless act of domestic terrorism. As we commemorate the ten-year anniversary of bombing, I applaud the people of Oklahoma for making tremendous progress over the past decade and for demonstrating their steadfast commitment to triumph over violence.

"We are appreciative that Congress recognizes the national significance of the 10th anniversary, and we are pleased that the Oklahoma delegation has spearheaded the effort to designate this week as the National Week of Hope,"
said Kari Watkins, executive director of the Oklahoma City National Memorial Foundation.

The House resolution (H. Res. 184) is cosponsored by all of the other members of the Oklahoma House Congressional delegation including Congressman Boren (D-OK), Cole (R-OK), Lucas (R-OK) and Sullivan (R-OK). The delegation hopes to bring the measure to the House floor for consideration before the April 19th anniversary. Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK) is a cosponsor of the Senate resolution.



Next Article » « Previous Article