Skip to content

May 23, 2017

Inhofe Applauds NRC Nominations

WASHINGTON — U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), senior member of the Environment and Public Works (EPW) committee, applauded President Trump’s announcement last night of his intent to nominate Annie Caputo to serve on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Caputo previously served as Inhofe’s senior policy advisor during his tenure as chairman and ranking member of the Senate EPW committee from 2007 to 2012. She has also worked for the House Energy and Commerce Committee and Exelon Corp., which operates more nuclear plants than any other company. 

Inhofe also applauded President Trump’s announcement that he will reappoint  Kristine Svinicki and nominate David Wright to serve as chair and as a commissioner of the NRC respectively. Svinicki started serving as chair of NRC in January. Wright has served as the president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and has chaired the South Carolina Public Service Commission. 

“I am glad that President Trump has selected my former staffer Annie Caputo,” Inhofe said. “Annie has over 20 years of experience handling nuclear energy issues, which will serve her well in her new role at the agency responsible for ensuring the safety and efficiency of our nation’s nuclear resources.” 

Kristine Svinicki will continue to be an integral member of NRC—having fought alongside me against overregulation in the industry—which will serve her well as NRC chair. David Wright brings a valuable portfolio to the commission and I look forward to working with him as well.” 

Next Article » « Previous Article