Skip to content

September 17, 2014

Inhofe Honors Oklahoma Medal of Honor Recipients

WASHINGTON, D.C. —  U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), ranking member of the Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC), today met with U.S. Army Command Sergeant Major Bennie Adkins (Ret.), a native of Waurika, Okla., and the family of the late U.S. Army Specialist Four Donald P. Sloat, a native of Coweta, Okla. Adkins and Sloat were awarded the Medal of Honor Monday during a ceremony at the White House. Dr. William Sloat of Enid, Okla., accepted the Medal of Honor on his brother’s behalf. 

“The courageous dedication of our nation’s servicemembers should always be honored and never forgotten. Our active-duty military and veterans answered the call to uphold our Founding Father’s ideals of liberty and justice for all. Without our military heroes upholding and defending these foundational principles, our country would cease to be the beacon of freedom it is throughout the world. The courageous actions of humble Oklahomans Command Sergeant Major Bennie Adkins and the late Special Four Donald P. Sloat embodied duty, honor and country. It was an honor to meet CSM Adkins and the family of Specialist Four Sloat. While we have known the sacrifices these Oklahomans have made, I am proud that our nation has finally formally recognized their truly heroic actions.”



Next Article » « Previous Article