Skip to content

March 09, 2015

Inhofe Introduces English Unity Act

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), today re-introduced the English Language Unity Act (S.678) which establishes English as the official language of the United States.

“The United States’ culturally diverse population is what makes our nation great, and what helps us move forward together as a society is the ability to communicate to one another,” Inhofe said. “The English Language Unity Act declares English as the official language of the United States and will help set legal immigrants on a path to success as they integrate and work towards becoming citizens. As a nation built by immigrants, this legislation will strengthen the cords of unity that comes from sharing one vision and one official language.” 

The legislation would require the federal government to use the English language when acting with binding, legal authority. All naturalization ceremonies would also be required to be conducted in English. The bill makes common-sense exceptions to permit the federal government’s use of other languages, such as in cases of national security, international relations and trade, tourism, public safety and health, and protecting the rights of victims. At the time of introduction, cosponsors included Sens. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), David Vitter (R-La.) and David Perdue (R-Ga.).


Next Article » « Previous Article