Skip to content

September 16, 2020

Inhofe Joins Legislation to Award Congressional Gold Medal To Heroes Killed in Libya

U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) joined as a cosponsor to bipartisan legislation that was introduced by Sen. Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) and a number of Senate colleagues to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to J. Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods and Sean Smith in recognition of their contributions to the nation. Stevens, Doherty, Woods and Smith were killed in the attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya in September 2012.

Ambassador Stevens was serving as United States Ambassador to Libya during the attack. Doherty, a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL, was a native of Winchester, Massachusetts. Woods, a native of Portland, Oregon was also a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL. Smith had served in the Air Force where he was awarded the Air Force Commendation Medal.

“Those in our nation who serve on the front lines and make the ultimate sacrifice should be treated with the utmost respect,” Inhofe said. “Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, Sean Smith and Ambassador Stevens deserve to be honored for their service and sacrifice to this country. As we mark the eighth anniversary of the attack on our embassy in Benghazi, I am proud to join as a cosponsor of this legislation to award them posthumously with the Congressional Gold Medal. People like these brave men keep our country free and for that, we are grateful.”

A copy of the legislation can be found here.

Next Article » « Previous Article