Skip to content

March 04, 2010


WASHINGTON, D.C. – For the fifth straight year, U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) has received an “A” rating from the National Taxpayers Union (NTU).  In recognition for his outstanding pro-taxpayer voting record last year, the 362,000-member NTU, has announced that Inhofe is a recipient of the 2009 “Taxpayers’ Friend Award”.


I am honored to again receive this award, and I will continue to fight for policies that allow taxpayers to keep more of their hard-earned money,” Inhofe said. “The tax and spend attitude of the Obama administration and liberals in Congress is unsustainable, and has a devastating impact on our nation’s economy.  Our federal government is in desperate need of fiscal restraint.  I appreciate the NTU’s hard work in advocating less government spending and lower taxes on hardworking Americans.”


“Given today’s economic climate, fiscal discipline is more important now than ever,” NTU President Duane Parde said. “Fortunately, taxpayers have a staunch ally in Senator Inhofe, to whom National Taxpayers Union is proud to present a ‘Taxpayers’ Friend Award.’ His pro-taxpayer score of 93 percent was one of the best in the entire Congress.  By voting time and again to reduce federal spending, taxes, and debt, Senator Inhofe has led by example in the fight to defend overburdened taxpayers across the country.  If every Member of Congress were as principled as Senator Inhofe, current and future generations of Americans could enjoy much lower taxes and a less wasteful government.  Hard-working families in Oklahoma and across the nation owe Senator Inhofe a debt of gratitude for his effort on their behalf. He has truly earned the title ‘Taxpayers’ Friend.’”



The award is given to Representatives and Senators who achieve an “A” grade in NTU’s annual Rating of Congress. The Rating, which is based on every roll call vote affecting fiscal policy, assigns a “Taxpayer Score” to each Member of Congress that indicates his or her support for reducing or controlling federal spending, taxes, debt, and regulation. For 2009, a total of 333 House and 227 Senate votes were selected.  In 2009, 55 lawmakers attained scores sufficient to win the “Taxpayers’ Friend Award.”

Next Article » « Previous Article