Skip to content

January 19, 2017

Inhofe Releases Accomplishments Report for EPW Committee in the 114th Congress


WASHINGTON – U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), outgoing chairman of the U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee, today released the EPW Majority Staff’s accomplishments report for the 114th Congress (2015-2016).

“I am proud to release this accomplishments report for the 114th Congress which details legislative achievements, extensive oversight, reports published, hearings held and bills signed into law under my chairmanship over the course of the last two years. For the first time in over ten years Congress enacted a long-term bill to improve our nation’s surface transportation infrastructure, roads and bridges, transit systems and rail transportation network; the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act is now law. For the first time in 20 years Congress rewrote and enacted a new major environmental statue which provides regulatory certainty for manufacturers, improves public confidence in the safety of chemicals and promotes innovation; the Frank R. Lautenberg Chemical Safety for the 21st Century Act garnered unprecedented bipartisan support and is now law.  Congress also passed the Water Infrastructure Improvements for the Nation (WIIN) Act as the last vote of the 114th Congress, putting us back on track to pass a water resources development package every two years. WIIN prioritizes water infrastructure, increases global competitive advantage, supports flood control projects and includes relief for communities facing drinking water crises; WIIN is now law. In addition to these remarkable legislative accomplishments, the EPW committee was committed to conducting rigorous oversight of the EPA, stopping job-killing regulations and holding the Obama administration accountable for the harmful effects of its legacy-oriented climate agenda.”

“None of the accomplishments of the EPW Committee in the 114th Congress would have been possible without the tireless efforts of my staff: Ryan Jackson, Alex Herrgott, Donelle Harder, Susan Bodine, Byron Brown, Shant Boyajian, Annie Caputo, Dimitri Karakitsos, Mandy Gunasekara, Brittany Bolen, Hillary Moffett, Anna Burhop, Laura Atcheson, Lauren Sturgeon, Charles Brittingham, Joe Brown, Andrew Neely, Kristina Baum, Daisy Letendre, Andrew Harding, Chaya Koffman, Lizzy Olsen, Amanda Hall, Carter Vella, Devin Barrett, Jake King, John Glennon, Nana Osei.”

“Finally, I want to mention and thank my dear friend, the now retired Senator from California who sat next to me at the EPW dais for many years. While Sen. Boxer and I often did not see eye-to-eye, she and her staff were instrumental to many of the committee’s victories in the last two years.  I am thankful for my many years as both ranking member and chairman of the EPW Committee and know that the gavel is now in good hands with my friend and colleague Sen. John Barrasso. I’m looking forward to working with John and the whole of the committee to ensure we continue to breathe clean air and drink clean water, all while reducing red tape from the EPA, promoting job creation and energy development, and advancing President-elect Trump’s robust infrastructure plan.”

To View the Full Report, Click Here.

Next Article » « Previous Article